performances & workshops

Richardson_1.1.2 retouched.jpg

Saturday, January 13, 2018 at 6pm
New York Live Arts, 219 W 19th Street, NYC

Construction and Closed System

A collaboration between Susan Marshall & the Sō Percussion Ensemble.

Construction is a collaboration between the company and the four percussionists of Sō. A visual musical score determines both the music and choreography. The score is visible and understandable to the audience, and requires the musicians to move through space to play it, producing a complex movement and sonic world.  Three dancers’ pathways intersect with the musicians’ like spirograph drawings superimposed on one another. Closed System is a solo for dancer Raven White with music by Jason Treuting, a founding member of Sō. Closed System is an audio and movement feedback loop, recursively folding and spiraling in on itself.

Performed by Christopher Adams, Eric Cha-Beach, Luke Miller, Tiffany Ogburn, Josh Quillen, Adam Sliwinski, Jason Treuting, and Raven White.